Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten-Free Diets are diets that refrain from gluten and any gluten byproduct or item containing gluten components. Gluten is the protein that is contained in wheat flour, but this also can be found in barley, rye, and triticale. Gluten is the binding component of wheat and it helps give structural support in recipes such as doughs and sauces. There are many different reasons that people follow a Gluten-Free Diet, they can be gluten intolerant, have Coeliac disease, and sometimes it is to help eliminate other health issues. When following a Gluten-Free diet it is important that you use products that are certified as Gluten-Free. That distinction is important because it indicates that the product was processed in a method that completely eliminates any gluten from its presence. Here are a list of some items to look for on labels in order to make sure they are free from gluten.

Wheat flour, farina, kanut, bulgur, semolina, durum flour, spelt, graham flour

On top of looking for these items in labels, it is important to think about what products are made from. There are a lot of sauces and items that use gluten as a stabilizing agent and are not necessarily disclosed as such. There are also certain seasoning blends that have gluten as a stabilizing or binding component. If you have a serious intolerance or allergy to gluten it is recommended to only use items that are naturally gluten-free or have been certified gluten-free using substitutions and replacers. Also of important note is that there are certain supplements that use gluten as a binding agent as well, so make sure that you read all labels and ensure that you are only using appropriate items.

There are so many delicious options to maintain a healthy gluten-free lifestyle. We will examine recipes and options for your journey. We will also discuss different options of interest when it comes to substituting and replacing gluten in recipes. Look forward to a listing of substitutions and options for gluten-free recipes in another post.